Thursday, September 1, 2011

Journey to Excellence

Both Boy Scout and Cub Scout breakouts discussed the new Journey to Excellence program for evaluating units.  The new school year brings new leadership to many Packs and so this month's refresher was a good introduction for them.

Journey to Excellence evaluates a Scouting unit over a calendar year, currently January 2011 - December 2011 and is expected to be completed and turned in with the unit rechartering packet. 

Units earn points in eleven to thirteen categories.  Most categories have three levels of points to earn, based on commitment to those categories.  For example, Packs are encouraged to have multiple activities in the outdoors throughout the year.  Packs with three outdoor activities will earn 75 points, packs with four will earn 150 points, and packs with five will earn 300 points.

Packs must complete at least the minimum requirements in 10 of the 13 categories, troops must complete at least 11 of 13 catagories, and crews must complete 9 of their 11 categories.

When all the unit points are tallied, a minimum of 700 points earns the bronze level, 1000 points earned the silver level, and 1600 points earns the gold level. 

Units will be able to purchase Journey to Excellence patches for their earned level, for all registered Scouts and Scouters.

At the October Roundtable, recharter packets will include spreadsheets for each unit, with Council-known data already included, such as percentage of Scouts advancing.
Journey to Excellence

No comments:

Post a Comment